– Local property owners are encouraged to take part in the development of preliminary flood risk maps for the Santa Fe Watershed at a series of meetings next month. 

Representatives from the Suwannee River Water Management District (District) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will be available to discuss the ongoing development of flood risk maps for the region. Residents who live in certain areas of Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Columbia, Gilchrist, Suwannee, and Union counties could be impacted by updated flood maps.

The District is seeking feedback from residents, along with city and county officials, in the development of these new flood risk maps. The maps are revised periodically to improve flood information for the local communities in their planning and development. The maps are also used to educate current and future property owners with updated information on their flood risk.

Feedback received during the meeting will be taken into consideration for the development of the preliminary maps, which are expected to be available to review later this year.

Three public meetings have been scheduled for residents to provide feedback.

  • February 21 – Bradford County Courthouse in Starke – 5 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • February 22 – James A. Lewis Commission Chambers in Alachua – 5 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • February 23 – Westside Community Center in Lake City – 5 p.m. to 8 p.m.

For those who cannot attend in-person, an online option will be available before the meeting. Additionally, a link to an online portal will be available later this month for residents to review maps and locate their property to see how it may be impacted. The link will be provided at www.MySuwanneeRiver.com.

The mission of the Suwannee River Water Management District is to protect and manage water resources using science-based solutions to support natural systems and the needs of the public. The District holds true to the belief of water for nature, water for people. Headquartered in Live Oak, Florida, the District serves 15 surrounding north-central Florida counties.