Registration Banner

FLMS 32nd Annual Technical Symposium

Tuesday, August 31: Pre-symposium Workshops
Wednesday-Friday, September 1 – 3: Technical Sessions

Hawks Cay Resort
Duck Key, Florida

Individual 3-day Registration $360
Exhibitor Registration $850

Registration & Hotel Link will open shortly!

Stay tuned for details and thank you for your support! We can’t wait to SEE YOU!!!!

Remember when we used to meet face to face? We do!

The 2019 Symposium at Hawks Cay

2 People standing holding an award
Dr. Harvey Harper (L) receives the Marjorie Carr Award, the Society’s highest award for lifetime achievement, from FLMS President Robbin Huffines.
Crowd of people standing looking at camera smiling
Student scholarship fundraiser after hours field trip to Key West

The 2017 Symposium 

People holding awards
Dr. Jim Griffin – Marjorie Carr Award Recipient
L-R FLMS President Ron Hart, Nella Griffin, Jim Griffin, FLMS Treasurer Lance Lumbard

The 2016 Symposium

Person talking to crowd of people
Fish ID Workshop
Room full of people
General Session
People standing around talking
Student/Board Meet & Greet
Man pointing to a picture at a meet and greet
Poster Session
Man holding award side hugging a woman
Dr. Dana Stephens Receives Young Professional Award
Man talking from podium
Sergio Duarte Gives Love Your Lake Grant Update
Room full of people
Annual Business Luncheon
2 people standing behind podium
Ann Shortelle Receives the Edward Deevey, Jr. Award
3 people standing. One man holding award
Dr. Daniel Canfield Volunteerism Award is Given to LAKEWATCH
3 people standing looking at camera
Colin, Jeff & Chris win the Golf Tourney – Again!
Group of people standing
Kevin McCann Memorial Scholarship Fund Putt Putt Tourney Gang!
2 people smiling. One person holding an award
John Walkinshaw Presents Todd Olson with 2016’s President’s Award
2 people smiling holding awards.
FLMS President Ron Hart Presents Chao Xiong with Student Poster Award
Person putt putting
Person putt putting
Awesome Putt Putt Players!!

A Look Back at 2015!

Person looking at a small pond
Person looking at a small pond
Person looking at a small pond

Pre-Symposium Workshop – SOPs of Surface Water Sampling presented by FDEP staff.

People sitting in body of water
3 people standing
People standing around
People standing around

Pre-Symposium Workshop – Macroinvertebrate surveys

Man speaking to a crowd of people
Pre-Symposium Workshop – Using climate data in lake management
Man talking to crowd
Tuesday Welcome address by Vice President & Program Co-Chair John Walkinshaw and Conference Chair Ron Hart
Woman talking to crowd
Keynote Speaker – Judy Ott of Charlotte Harbor National Estuary Program
Crowd of people
Judges at a table
Judges at a table

(R) Keynote Speaker – Judy Ott of Charlotte Harbor National Estuary Program


General session and panel discussions

Man speaking behind podium
Room full of people

Tuesday Guest Luncheon Speaker – Beacham Furse – Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission

Crowd of people
Crowd of people
People gathered smiling
2 people smiling

Tuesday evening Exhibitors’ Social & Poster Session

Crowd of people near exhibits
Crowd of people near exhibits
Man standing in fron of podium
3 people gathered smiling

(L) Wednesday Keynote Speaker Mark Hoyer – University of Florida/LAKEWATCH

(R) NALMS President Reed Green, Incoming FLMS President John Walkinshaw & NALMS Treasurer Mike Perry

2 people smiling

Passing the gavel – Past-president Jennifer Sagan and Incoming President John Walkinshaw

4 people smiling

 This year’s Kevin McCann Memorial Scholarship Recipients with FLMS Admin Maryann
(L-R Molly Klinepeter, Mriganka De, Maryann Krisovitch & Rob Sierzega)

Man speaking behind podium
4 people gathered

The winning team for the 6th Annual Kevin McCann Memorial Scholarship Fund Golf Tournament.
This year’s tournament raised $600 for the fund!
(L-R Jeremy Slade, Craig Smith, Troy Knowlton, Colin Kirk)

4 people gathered
4 people gathered

Second and third place golf teams

(L-R Robert Criste, Steve Beeman, John Selby, Andy Chapman, Ron Hart, Matt & Todd Olson, Lance Lumbard)

Hanging out on hammock

Maryann post-symposium!

Remembering 2014!

As we close the book on another successful technical symposium, let’s take a look back at the 2014 event!

Wednesday’s Incredible Race Student Fundraiser Event was held at the Florida Oceanographic Society’s Coastal Center.  The winners of the event were Danielle Marshall & Sam Arden, Dana Dettmar & Mark Lucius and Serge and Barb Thomas.

2 people smiling
Group of people smiling

Both events raised a combined $900 to support the Kevin McCann Student Scholarship Fund which provides travel funding for students to attend the FLMS symposium.

2 people smiling
Crowd of people

Following a humorous look back at FLMS over the past 25 years with Board President Jennifer Sagan, this year’s keynote speaker at the opening session was long-time FLMS and NALMS member and supporter, Marty Kelly of Atkins North America.  Marty provided his perspective on water quality and water quantity issues affecting Florida over the past 25 years.

Tuesday evening ended with our poster session and Exhibitors Social.  Many thanks go out to our exhibitors and sponsors who make this event financially possible.  Please visit our exhibitors page for a full listing.

Crowd of people
Crowd of people


Wednesday’s morning keynote speaker was Julie Espy of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection.  Julie’s presentation focused on restoration and protection efforts throughout Florida.

Woman speaking

Our annual business meeting and banquet special lunch speaker was Florida Senator Charlie Dean who spoke on his life-long history in Florida and his love of our environment and the need for its protection. 

Man holding award next to woman smiling

Following Senator Dean, FLMS honored its long-time Treasurer, Mike Perry.  Mike has served on the FLMS Board for the past 12 years and has been Treasurer for the past ten years.  He currently serves as the Treasurer for NALMS.  We say a BIG THANK YOU to Mike for his dedication!

Man talking from behind podium with a Hawaiian skirt and hat on
Man holding award next to a smiling woman
Crowd of people