Awards of Excellence Presented by
the Florida Lake Management Society

Each year, our Society solicits nominations for a variety of individual awards. Nominations are accepted at any time during the year and are awarded at each year's annual conference.

Please submit individual nominations to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Please include a statement supporting your nomination which provides information about the nominee, his/her qualifications for the award, and why you think they deserve the award.

FLMS Individual Awards

The Marjorie Carr Award - is the Society's highest award and is given for life time work on behalf of Florida's aquatic resources. This award
is named in honor of Marjorie Carr who, among other things, organized citizens and brought to an end the proposed Cross Florida Barge Canal.

Past award winners are:

The Edward Deevey, Jr. Award - is given to an individual for contributing to our scientific understanding of Florida's water bodies. Edward Deevey was an internationally recognized limnologist and affiliated with the State Museum of Florida at the time of his death.

Past recipients include:

The Scott Driver Award - is given to an environmental advocate who has promoted the restoration, protection and/or appreciation of Florida's aquatic resources. Scott was a well know activist on behalf of Lake Okeechobee and a member of the steering committee that founded the FLMS at the time of his death.

Past honorees include:

The Richard Coleman Aquatic Resources Award - is given to a professional who has worked to restore, protect and/or advance our understanding of Florida's aquatic resources.

Past recipients include:

The Marjory Stoneman Douglas Award - is given to individuals in the media who report on aquatic resource issues. This award is named in honor of Marjory Stoneman Douglas who authored the book"Everglades: River of Grass", founded the Friends of the Everglades and who was environmentally active in south Florida.

Past recipients include:

The Bob Graham Award - is given to persons elected to office who demonstrate a commitment to lake and aquatic resource conservation. Bob Graham is remembered for his support of many environmental initiatives including the purchase for preservation of thousands of acres of Gulf Coast wetlands.

Past recipients include:

President's Award - is given at the discretion of the FLMS President, for contributions by individuals on behalf of the society.


The Dr. Daniel E. Canfield, Jr. Volunteerism Award is given to a volunteer organization or outstanding volunteer for significant contributions to the research, restoration and/or preservation of our water resources.  The award is named after Dr. Daniel Canfield, founder of Florida LAKEWATCH, the pioneering citizen-volunteer water quality monitoring program involving over 1,200 lakes statewide, and now being emulated across the United States.

The Young Professional Award is presented to a young lake management professional who exhibits exemplary professional accomplishments and a commitment to water resource protection and management of our lakes and watersheds.

FLMS Symposium Student Presenter Awards 2017

1st Place ~ Courtney Stachowiak, University of Florida
2nd Place ~ Chao Xiong, University of Florida

Poster Winner ~ Nicole Llinas, University of North Florida

FLMS Winners of the State Science & Engineering Fair of Florida

Past Recipients